Skip to main content

Genealogy: The Historical Path to Me: Genealogical Research

Project overview and resources specific to the History through Film Genealogy project.

Guide Curator

Eric Mahollitz
Contact:
Salesian College Prep
2851 Salesian Ave
Richmond, CA 94804
(510) 234-4433 x1410

Introduction

Welcome to the Libguide for Genealogical Research and your 'Historical Path to Me' project. Utilize this page, and the tabs above, to navigate and complete your assignment. Contact Mr. M. in the library with any research questions.

Genealogy Terms

Genealogy Terms - a list of common genealogy terms, hosted by RootsWeb.

Glossary of Genealogical Terms - interpret ancestral documents correctly by understanding the specialized, and sometimes archaic, language.

Genealogy on the Web

Castle Gardenaccess to an extraordinary database of information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened.

Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.

Family Searcha nonprofit family history organization dedicated to connecting families across generations, sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

Genealogy Resources, by State - find an A-Z list of states' genealogy resources, sponsored by USA.gov.

Genealogy Roots Blogfor finding online genealogy databases, records and resources. The focus is on vital records (birth, marriage, divorce & death records), obituaries, census records, naturalization records, military records and ship passenger lists.

Japanese Immigrants - search for Japanese immigrants between 1887-1924.

National Archives' Archival Databases - public records from the National Archives covering military personnel, passenger lists, prisoners of war, and more...

Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island - search passenger records for this common U.S. entry point.

U.S. Searchable Death Indexesplaces to find indexes for death records on the Internet, including obituaries, cemetery burials, military cemeteries, probate indexes, the Social Security Death Index, and other related items.

Historical Newspapers

California Digital Newspaper Collection - a freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present.

Chronicling Americahistoric newspaper pages from 1836-1922, sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Elephind - the goal of Elephind.com is to make it possible to search all the world’s online historic newspapers from one place.

Google News Archivesearch and explore historical archives. News archive search can automatically create timelines which show selected results from relevant time periods.

Online Historical Newspapers - created and maintained by Miriam Robbins Midkiff. Includes links to digitized historical newspapers online and available for free or through subscription.

Library Books

Non-Library Books

Family History Booksa collection of more than 150,000 digitized genealogy and family history publications from the archives of some of the most important family history libraries in the world.

Google Books - search or browse Google's collection of public domain titles for family history information. Read a brief article for tips on searching Google Books for this type of information.